Most of us have received a traffic citation at some point in our driving career. In days past, that experience probably included paying a monetary fine either by mail or making a trip to the court house. Today, however, getting a traffic ticket can have immediate, significant and far reaching consequences. The worst thing you can do is simply pay a traffic citation. Simply paying your fine for a traffic ticket means that you agree that you are “guilty” of the charge, and are therefore, “convicted.” Being convicted of, or found guilty of a traffic ticket can have at least five (5) serious consequences
If you are guilty, you must pay a monetary fine. Depending on the ticket violation, the fine could be several hundred dollars. Hiring Todd E. Tkach to fight your traffic ticket could result in a dismissal of the charges. In that event, you don’t have to pay any fine!! Even if the ticket is not dismissed outright, attorney, Todd E. Tkach will aggressively negotiate with the prosecutor to reduce the fine amount.
Convictions of traffic tickets can raise your automobile insurance rates. Many automobile insurance companies check your driving record before agreeing to insure you or renew your automobile insurance. Having “convictions” for traffic tickets on your driving record can cost you money. Your automobile insurance company may increase your insurance rates when you apply for new insurance or for a renewal of your existing insurance. Avoid paying increased insurance rates! Hire Todd E. Tkach to prevent a conviction and protect your insurance rates.
Your driver’s license could be suspended. The State of Texas has a “Point System” that affects your right to hold and maintain a Texas driver’s license. You are charged “Points” against your driving record if you are convicted of certain traffic tickets. The number of “Points” charged varies depending on the type of traffic ticket you are given, but ranges from one (1) to six (6) points, depending on the type of traffic violation you are given. “Points” remain on a driver’s record for three (3) years. Accumulating too many points on your driving record can result in a driver’s license suspension. Additionally, the Texas Department of Public safety can suspend your driver’s license if you get as few as three (3) convictions within twelve (12) months. If that happens, you cannot legally drive an automobile in Texas.
Convictions of certain traffic citations can cost you “Surcharges” imposed by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Surcharges are assessed in two ways: 1) Having 6 or more Points; and 2) Convictions for certain traffic violations. A Texas driver gets 2 points for most traffic violation convictions (3 points if a crash is involved). “Points” remain on a driver’s record for 3 years. The Texas Department of Public Safety assesses a yearly $100 surcharge for 6 points; with another $25 surcharge for each additional point. The surcharge continues to be assessed as long as the Points total 6 or more. For example, being convicted of driving without a valid driver’s license or driving without liability insurance will cost you a $750.00 surcharge when you apply for an original or a renewal of your driver’s license. Likewise, being convicted of driving without a driver's license will cost you a $300.00 surcharge. In fact, the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your driver's license until the surcharges are paid “up to date." Don’t risk being convicted of these charges. We’ll fight for a dismissal of these citations and the surcharges that accompany them. If we can’t obtain an outright dismissal, we’ll fight to get a dismissal through plea negotiations and keep the charges off your driving record.
All traffic tickets, traffic violations, code violations and other municipal tickets are “Class C” misdemeanors, according to the laws of the State of Texas. The range of punishment for Class C misdemeanors does not include jail time. The punishment range is “fine only.” All Class C misdemeanors are initially handled in Municipal Courts and Justice of the Peace Courts. Although these are the lowest level of criminal courts in the State, some Class C misdemeanors can have significant and long-term effects. For example, multiple convictions for disorderly conduct can be enhanced to Class B or Class A misdemeanors, which carry jail time in their range of punishment. A conviction for a charge of Class C assault/family violence can be enhanced and can prohibit you from owning or possessing a firearm.
Don’t “go-it-alone.” The long-term effects can be devastating.
Don’t get caught in the vicious cycle of Points, Surcharges, driver’s license suspensions and sky high automobile insurance rates. Call attorney Todd E. Tkach to make sure your rights are protected!
Call Todd E. Tkach, P.C. at (214) 999-0595 now or click on the button below to connect directly to our office. This is a FREE call!
To serve all of our clients in Dallas or Ft. Worth, please visit our office at 1111 W. Mockingbird Lane, Suite 700, Dallas, Texas 75247. Click here for a map and directions to our Dallas office.
You can hire us on-line, right now, with a debit or credit card. Your transaction is secure and it only takes a few minutes. You will be prompted to provide all necessary information and to print or download any and all forms necessary to complete your transaction with us.